Writer’s Talk – Anne Rice on Reaching for Fire from Heaven

I was poking around on the web (as you do) and after discovering Anne Rice really had written another novel where the vampire Lestat was the main character, I followed a related link to a video on Ms. Rice’s YouTube channel where she talks about writing.

It didn’t take me long to discover that authors are in videos talking about writing all over YouTube (duh, right?). I wanted to watch them all. But more than that, I wanted to share with you what I learned from them, and so I had the idea for doing just that on my blog. Although my blog is often about writing, it’s not because I know anything (I mean, shit, I’m writing my first novel, what do I know?), but because I’m eager to learn for myself. And why should I keep that to myself? I’m happy to share that with you.

I’m inclined to listen to Anne Rice dish out suggestions and advice on writing for two reasons.

One, she’s a wildly successful writer; and two, I loved more than a few of her books. They were very influential on me when I first discovered her vampire series in high school back in the 80s (shut up). They were a fantastical escape for this lonely, nerdy high school kid.

In this video, she mentions a few points I found particularly worthwhile:

  • Writers are not beholden to the kinds of rules which govern other professions. A writer can simply begin writing.
  • Don’t edit your story because of what is said in rejection letters from publishers. When a publisher finally wants your story and has suggestions and edits to make, then you make them.
  • I don’t believe in heaven, but I still love that she described writing as reaching for fire from heaven.

As I find other videos from writers, I’ll post them for discussion and I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

What was the most important thing Anne Rice said for you?

photo credit: ccmerino via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

